Bhaga, a god of Divine bliss, leads us towards earthly and heavenly prosperity. At the same time he helps us to bring the Divine clarity and Divine order into every sphere of our life – to make the Divine Light firm on this earthly plane.
– Rig Veda, translation of Dr. Tulsi Ram M.A., Ph.D. and Swami Dayananda
Bhaga Aditya, presiding over Uttara Phalguni nakshatra, is the form of Sun-god, which represents Divine Joy or ananda. He is the Divine prosperity and luck experienced both on material and spiritual plane. No wonder that Full Moon in this lunar mansion is considered to be the birth day of Mother Lakshmi.

The shakti of Uttara Phalguni nakshatra is cayani shakti – the power to choose wisely in life. Similarly like Mother Lakshmi, right after her birth from the cosmic ocean, immediately knew, that she wants only Lord Vishnu as her highest husband, so Bhaga Aditya inspires us to choose wisely only what is best and of highest value in life. No wonder that the very name of Mother Lakshmi means “the one, who knows her goal”.

On the day when Moon dwells in Uttara Phalguni nakshatra, Bhaga Aditya inspires us to re-prioritise our choices and re-organise our life. To become more aware and conscious about choices that we make in life. Yet, people born under the influence of this lunar mansion, may sometimes also be a bit too picky.

Bhaga Aditya is the form of Sun-god that helps us to make better decisions in life, to have more clarity about our goals and to be more conscious in all the choices that we make, both on material and spiritual plane. Uttara Phalguni is considered to be one of the most auspicious nakshatras.

Do you want to start learning about the Nakshatras for real? Join me an on-going Journey with the Nakshatras and learn more the mysteries of the Vedic lunar mansions.



Devata: Bhaga (god of luck and prosperity)
Shakti: cayani shakti – power to make a choice
Basis above: wealth obtained from one’s family
Basis below: wealth obtained from partner’s family
Desire: to become lord of the animals
Planetary ruler: Sun


Placement: 26:40 Leo – 10:00 Virgo (fire, tamas / earth, tamas)
Yogatara: 27:45 Leo (1 pada)
Pushkaramsha: 1 and 4 pada
Pushkara bhaga: 9:00 Virgo
Mrityu bhaga: 1:00 Virgo (2 pada)
Visha nadi: 0:40 – 1:33 Virgo (2 pada)
Amrita nadi: 6:00 – 6:53:20 Virgo (3/4 pada)


Tattwa: air
Gunas: tamas – rajas – sattwa
Nature: dhruva (fixed)
Gaze: urdhwa-mukha (upward facing)
Gana: manushya (human)
Varna: kshatriya (warrior)
Gender: female
Motivation: moksha (release)


Animal: male cow (bull)
Symbol: bed, four leggs of a couch

Omens: bull, Nandi, father, manager, boss, priest, brahmin, Goddess Lakshmi, bride, wedding, kumkum, sindhur, contract


Tridosha: vata
Body part: lips, sex organs, left hand
Chakra: anahata (heart chakra)

Healing tree: oleander


Sunday: sarvartha siddhi yoga
Monday: nasha yoga
Tuesday: siddha yoga
Wednesday: siddha yoga
Thursday: dagdha yoga + nasha yoga
Friday: siddha yoga
Saturday: mrityu yoga + yamaghanta yoga


We love to share Vedic knowledge with you. Subscribe to our newsletter to be the first one to receive newest articles from Discovering Youniverse.