Varuna, presiding over the etheric ocean of consciousness is a guardian of truth and righteousness. He is also the Cosmic Judge and the conscience within us.
– Rig Veda, translation of Dr. Tulsi Ram M.A., Ph.D. and Swami Dayananda
Varuna is the Vedic god of oceans and atmosphere. As the sky and the ocean are boundless in nature, so Varuna is the protector of the vast ocean of consciousness – not only the individual consciousness, but also collective consciousness. He awakens within us an understanding that we are all connected together. From that understanding the natural sense of righteousness and non-violence is arising. Without this understanding, unrighteousness and misbalance takes place.

Varuna is the guardian of truth and righteousness. He is the Cosmic Judge and the lord of karma, who always tries to bring us back to the right path. Sometimes, in order for our earthly learning process to be successful, he also needs to give us back some of our less pleasant karma and make it manifest itself in our lives as disease, poverty or loss. Often those so-called misfortunes become a turning point for an individual and allow us to finally learn our life lessons and heal ourselves on a much deeper level.

Varuna helps us to reconnect with the boundlessness of our consciousness and free ourselves from the shackles of our own mind’s limitations. He inspires us to heal our mind from all polluting thoughts, so our inner ocean can become pure once again – and so the light of truth and Divine inspiration can shine through it. Because when our mind liberates itself from those limiting influences, the body automatically starts heading towards healing, too.

Acceptance is the first step in that process. People born under stellar influence of Shatabhisha nakshatra might often have a problem with that and may tend to be too judgemental. Varuna will be inspiring them throughout life to have a little bit more faith in Divine justice and to realise that nothing ever happens to anybody without a reason – but it is merely a manifestation of our karmic lessons and debts, that we need to pay and go through in order to progress in life.

Do you want to start learning about the Nakshatras for real? Join me an on-going Journey with the Nakshatras and learn more the mysteries of the Vedic lunar mansions.



Devata: Varuna (god of cosmic justice)
Shakti: bheshaja shakti – power to heal
Basis above: all-pervasiveness
Basis below: supporting the entire world
Desire: to be firm and not unsteady
Planetary ruler: Rahu


Placement: 6:40 – 20:00 Aquarius (air, sattwa)
Yogatara:17:45 Aquarius (4 pada)
Saturn’s mulatrikona: 0:00 – 20:00 Aquarius (all 4 padas)
Pushkaramsha: 4 pada
Pushkara bhaga: 19:00 Aquarius (4 pada)
Mrityu bhaga: 20:00 Aquarius (4 pada)
Visha nadi: 10:40 – 11:33:20 Aquarius (2 pada)
Amrita nadi: 16:00 – 16:53:20 Aquarius (3/4 pada)


Tattwa: water
Gunas: sattwa – tamas – sattwa
Nature: chara (movable)
Gaze: urdhwa-mukha (upward facing)
Gana: rakshasa (demon)
Varna: butcher
Gender: male
Motivation: dharma (righteousness)


Animal: female horse
Symbol: empty circle, 100 flowers, 100 stars

Omens: circle, flower, healing herb, forest, sea, ocean, plane, flight, star, night, horse, police, teeth


Tridosha: vata
Body part: jaw, right tigh
Chakra: svadhishthana (sacral chakra)

Healing tree: kadamba


Monday: shobhana yoga
Tuesday: mrityu yoga
Wednesday: shubha yoga
Thursday: dagdha yoga
Friday: siddha yoga
Saturday: amrita yoga


We love to share Vedic knowledge with you. Subscribe to our newsletter to be the first one to receive newest articles from Discovering Youniverse.