Prajapati is the primordial Creator present within each of us. He is responsible for our urge to create, procreate, grow and expand, so we can progress in material and spiritual life.
– Rig Veda, translation of Dr. Tulsi Ram M.A., Ph.D. and Swami Dayananda
The power of Prajapati and Rohini nakshatra is the power to grow all things, rohana shakti. Similar is the power of Moon himself, who happens to be the planetary ruler of this lunar mansion. Here all our ideas get nourished and grounded, establishing their roots in the world of matter. After all, Rohini nakshatra does not only dwell at the heart of earthy and fixed Taurus, but it is also earthy and fixed in nature. This is why, though, it can be a bit stubborn sometimes, as well as too attached to material world. As Rohini is Moon’s favourite nakshatra, in the heart of earthly and fixed rashi, where Moon find its mulatrikona place, it often makes us too attached to our comfort zone and all that is pleasurable and agreeable for the mind = Moon. This is also why it awakens so easily all romantic feelings within us. It inspires us to grow, arise, expand, create, progress and materialise all our ideas. It nourishes all that it touches. This is why we need to be very careful, which desires and thoughts are we allowing to enter our inner space on the day when Moon is dwelling in Rohini nakshatra.
Rohini nakshatra is also the star of all the natural cycles, seasons and our own habits. On the very first birthday of Lord Krishna, when Moon was dwelling in Krittika nakshatra, when he was still a baby he kicked with his little foot the cart with different utensils, which happened to be a demon in disguise. There is a deep meaning of this story. The cart-demon, Sakatasura, symbolises the power of habit and our samskaras from the past, which we keep pulling with ourselves from life to life, like a heavy cart (which happens to be the symbol of Rohini nakshatra). Even though healthy habits may helps us in finding more stability and discipline in life, unhealthy ones are binding us to the world of matter, creating countless attachments. Paramahansa Yogananda explained that this power of habit can be defeated only by the power of intuition, as it automatically breaks all the negative patterns. This spontaneaous intuition is represented by Lord Krishna defeating the demon of our old habits, when he was just 1 year old, a little baby.
Do you want to start learning about the Nakshatras for real? Join me an on-going Journey with the Nakshatras and learn more the mysteries of the Vedic lunar mansions.



Devata: Prajapati (Creator, god of progeny)
Shakti: rohana shakti – power to grow
Basis above: water
Basis below: medicinal herbs
Desire: to attract a lover and unite with her/him
Planetary ruler: Moon


Placement: 10:00 – 23:20 Taurus
Yogatara: 16:00 Taurus (2 pada)
Moon’s mulatrikona: 4:00 – 20:00 Taurus (1, 2, 3 pada)
Pushkaramsha: 2 pada
Vargottama: 2 pada
Visha nadi: 18:53:20 – 19:46:40 Taurus (3 pada)
Amrita nadi: 21:33:20 – 22:26:40 Taurus (4 pada)


Tattwa: earth
Gunas: rajas – tamas – rajas
Nature: dhruva (fixed)
Gaze: urdhwa-mukha (upward facing)
Gana: manushya (human)
Varna: shudra (worker)
Gender: male
Motivation: moksha (release)


Animal: male serpent
Symbol: cart, chariot, temple, ox-pulled cart

Omens: cart, chariot, bull, snake, beautiful woman, temple, temple of Goddess, menstruation, wheel, healing herbs, medicine, artist, blushing, car, feminist, priest, brahmin, farmer


Tridosha: kapha
Body part: forehead, ankles, shin, calves
Chakra: vishuddha (throat chakra)

Healing tree: jamun


Monday: sarvartha siddhi yoga
Wednesday: sarvartha siddhi yoga
Thursday: dagdha yoga
Friday: yamaghanta + mrityu yoga
Saturday: sarvartha siddhi yoga


We love to share Vedic knowledge with you. Subscribe to our newsletter to be the first one to receive newest articles from Discovering Youniverse.