Pushan, Sun-god as Divine Nourisher, guides the soul, so we can find the right path, fulfil our destiny and reach our ultimate goal.
– Rig Veda, translation of Dr. Tulsi Ram M.A., Ph.D. and Swami Dayananda
Sideral zodiac ends and completes with Revati nakshatra, the star of Pushan, the Cosmic Shepherd (and one of the Adityas, too) – which is the star of journey of the soul to its final destination, in this life and after death. Pushan himself is the Aditya responsible for taking the soul to other realms after its departure from this earthly plane, and delivering it to its final goal. And no wonder – this is the last star of the zodiac. Everything completes here and becomes full again. Pushan himself leads us to completion and fulfilment, and allows us to finally find peace and relaxation after something becomes complete.
No wonder thet Venus, representing Mother Lakshmi herself, is exalted here, in the nakshatra of final destination. Venus represents our desires, Mother Lakshmi – our goals. In the boundless ocean of Divine Consciousness, represented by the sign of Pisces all the rivers of our desires and goals get stilled and finally completed. As Lord Krishna said in Bhagavad Gita:

“A person who is not disturbed by the incessant flow of desires, that enter like rivers into the ocean which is ever being filled but is always still, can alone achieve peace.”

Do you want to start learning about the Nakshatras for real? Join me an on-going Journey with the Nakshatras and learn more the mysteries of the Vedic lunar mansions.



Devata: Pushan (form of Sun-god, Divine Guide)
Shakti: kshiradhyapani shakti – power to nourish with milk
Basis above: cows
Basis below: calves
Desire: to become lord of the animals
Planetary ruler: Saturn


Placement: 16:40 – 30:00 Pisces (water, sattwa)
Yogatara: 26:00 Pisces (3 pada)
Exaltation of Venus: 27:00 Pisces (4 pada)
Visha nadi: 23:20 – 24:13:20 Pisces (2 pada)
Amrita nadi: 28:40 – 29: 33:20 Pisces (4 pada)


Tattwa: water
Gunas: sattwa – sattwa – sattwa
Nature: mridu (gentle)
Gaze: tiryanga-mukha (level facing)
Gana: deva (god-like)
Varna: shudra (worker)
Gender: male
Motivation: moksha (release)


Animal: female elephant
Symbol: fish, pair of fish, drum (naggada)

Omens: cow, grave, graveyard, funeral, clouds, milk, dairy product, domestic animal, teeth, path, elephant, fish, feet, teacher, priest, temple of Goddess Lakshmi


Tridosha: kapha
Body part: abdomen, groin, ankles, feet
Chakra: ajna (third eye chakra)

Healing tree: mahua


Sunday: siddha yoga
Monday: shobhana yoga
Tuesday: siddha yoga
Wednesday: utpata yoga + nasha yoga
Thursday: sarvartha siddhi yoga
Friday: sarvartha siddhi yoga
Saturday: mrityu yoga


We love to share Vedic knowledge with you. Subscribe to our newsletter to be the first one to receive newest articles from Discovering Youniverse.