Brihaspati, generous Guru of gods, blesses us with the power to reflect the Divine qualities (brahmavarchasa shakti), to expand and blossom, manifesting Divine creativity and wisdom.
– Rig Veda, translation of Dr. Tulsi Ram M.A., Ph.D. and Swami Dayananda
Brihaspati literally means “the lord of expansion” or “the lord of vastness”. He helps us to keep our mind open and vast for new ideas to emerge and blossom, and for Divine light to reflect through us. In this vastness the deepest compassion can be found, the most profound wisdom and plenty of space to express yourself and your creativity.

Pushya nakshatra helps us to nourish all that is good, within us and to grow above our limitations, like lotus flower, which grows in the mud, pierces through the surface to become the most beautiful of all flowers. It inspires us to seek beauty and opportunity to grow in every life experience. It also teaches us not to be afraid to open our hearts – because our soul, more vast than the sky, is so much bigger than any of our little problems. Such are the spiritual lessons from Pushya nakshatra.

Bij mantra of Pushya nakshatra is kam. Ka refers to expansive, creative qualities of Brahma, the creator, as well as to immesureable, infinite light of the Divine, while ma refers to measurement or human limitation put on this Divine light. No wonder, it is the first bija and first nakshatra connected to heart chakra, where we learn, similarly like Guru Brihaspati, how to rise above our human limitations and reflect more of Divine light of unconditional love.

Pushya nakshatra is light and swift in nature, but also warm and nourishing. It always seeks expansion, space and opportunities to blossom and reflect Divine light. Nourishing Moon feels very comfortable in this lunar mansion, yet he tends to become a little bit too passive here, sometimes, and unwilling to move out of his comfort zone.

Every month I am having live webinar about the secrets of one of the nakshatras – and you are most welcome to join me. Choose $16 tier on Patreon and let us discover together the deep secrets of the lunar mansions.



Devata: Brihaspati (Guru of gods)
Shakti: brahmavarchasa shakti – power to reflect the Divine qualities
Basis above: worship
Basis below: worshippers
Desire: to posses the splendour of spiritual knowledge
Planetary ruler: Saturn


Placement: 3:20 – 16:40 Cancer (water rajas)
Yogatara: 13:30 and 15:00 Cancer (4 pada)
Jupiter’s exaltation: 5:00 Cancer (1 pada)
Pushkaramsha: 2 pada
Pushkara bhaga: 8:00 Cancer (2 pada)
Visha nadi: 7:46:40 – 8:40 Cancer (2 pada)
Amrita nadi: 13:06:40 – 14:00 Cancer (3/4 pada)


Tattwa: fire
Gunas: rajas – sattwa – tamas
Nature: laghu (light) and kshipra (swift)
Gaze: urdhwa-mukha (upward facing)
Gana: deva (godlike)
Varna: kshatriya (warrior)
Gender: female
Motivation: dharma (righteousness)


Animal: female goat / sheep
Symbol: cow’s udder, lotus flower, arrow, circle

Omens: brahmin, priest, guru, teacher, lotus flower, cow, milk, milk product, book, conch shell, temple, homa, child, mantra


Tridosha: pitta
Body part: mouth, face, facial expression
Chakra: anahata (heart chakra)

Healing tree: peepal tree


Sunday: sarvartha siddhi yoga
Monday: sarvartha siddhi yoga
Tuesday: amrita yoga
Wednesday: amrita yoga
Thursday: sarvartha siddhi yoga
Friday: nasha yoga + utpata yoga
Saturday: shubha yoga


We love to share Vedic knowledge with you. Subscribe to our newsletter to be the first one to receive newest articles from Discovering Youniverse.