Aryaman is a god of sacred partnerships, who brings all opposites together, teaches us the power of compromise, compassion and open heart, as well as inspires us to walk on a peaceful path of non-violence.
– Rig Veda, translation of Dr. Tulsi Ram M.A., Ph.D. and Swami Dayananda
Aryama Aditya is the Sun-god in the form of Divine Companion or Divine husband. He is the god of sacred unions, alliances and partnerships, who brings the opposites together to create something new. You can see it even in the numerology of Purva Phalguni nakshatra: it is original 11th nakshatra from the beginning of the zodiac. Number 11 itself stands for two individualities (1 + 1) pairing together in order to create something new. This is why the shakti or the power of Purva Phalguni nakshatra is prajanana shakti: power to create, procreate and bring to life the fruits of our actions, give birth to new possibilities. Aryaman also represents our conscience and ability to walk on the path of the heart; peaceful “path free of hatred”. He is the one who teaches us how to trim the blinding rays of our individual self for the sake of sustaining the relationships through the art of compromise, diplomacy and compassion.
When Moon occupies the star of Aryaman, we may feel an increased need to rest and rejuvenate, or simply to have some fun. With bed and hammock as some of its symbols, Purva Phalguni nakshatra also represents our ability to regenerate our life force, relax and enjoy the fruits of our actions. After all, it is the original 11th nakshatra, which in our personal lunar cycle is known as karma sampat nakshatra – “star of the fruits of our actions”. And it is only when we are relaxed, we can truly become creative, which is what Purva Phalguni nakshatra encourages us to do: to rest a little and open up for new possibilities. Purva Phalguni, with its procreative power, also happens to be the birth nakshatra of Jupiter, as per Puranas, which makes it’s energy very easygoing and expansive. Unfortunately, it can make us manifest some shadow sides of Jupiter, too, such as hyperoptimism, happy-go-lucky attitude or laziness.
Do you want to start learning about the Nakshatras for real? Join me an on-going Journey with the Nakshatras and learn more the mysteries of the Vedic lunar mansions.



Devata: Aryaman (god of patronage)
Shakti: prajanana shakti – power to procreate
Basis above: wife
Basis below: husband
Desire: to have the best share among gods
Planetary ruler: Venus


Placement: 13:20 – 26:40 Leo (fire, tamas)
Yogatara: 17:30 Leo (2 pada)
Vargottama: 1 pada
Pushkaramsha: 3 pada
Pushkara bhaga: 19:00 Leo (2 pada)
Mrityu bhaga: 21:00 Leo (3 pada)
Visha nadi: 17:46:40 – 18:40 (2 pada)
Amrita nadi: 23:06:40 – 24:00 (3/4 pada)


Tattwa: fire
Gunas: tamas – rajas – tamas
Nature: ugra (fierce)
Gaze: adho-mukha (downward facing)
Gana: manushya (human)
Varna: brahmin (priest)
Gender: female
Motivation: kama (fulfillment)


Animal: female rat
Symbol: hammock, bed

Omens: hammock, bed, erotic image, Goddess Lakshmi, sindhur, kumkum, red color, beautiful lady, red cloth, contract, bride


Tridosha: pitta
Body part: lips, sex organs, right hand
Chakra: anahata (heart chakra)

Healing tree: flame of the forest


Monday: shobhana yoga
Tuesday: amrita yoga
Wednesday: siddha yoga
Friday: siddha yoga + amrita yoga
Saturday: mrityu yoga


We love to share Vedic knowledge with you. Subscribe to our newsletter to be the first one to receive newest articles from Discovering Youniverse.