Aja Ekapada, “the one-footed unborn one”, represents the axis of the inner and outer universe: “the pillar of light”, the all unifying Divine principle in the external universe, and the sushumna nadi in our inner universe.
– Rig Veda, translation of Dr. Tulsi Ram M.A., Ph.D. and Swami Dayananda
Purva Bhadrapada nakshatra connects the sidereal sign of Aquarius (collective consciousness) with the sign of Pisces (super consciousness) – it elevates us from worldly consciousness to Divine consciousness. Therefore its name means “first auspicious step” reaching beyond the material world. Its very shakti is called yajamana udyamana shakti – “the power to spiritually elevate the aspirant”. The symbol is a mystical pillar of light, the axis mundi, which represents the singular (ekapada) and unborn (aja) spiritual principle, which is the foundation and spiritual core of this manifested universe. In the microcosm of our energy body the same pillar of light is found in our spinal column and known as sushumna (“the most subtle”) energy channel, which represents the pathways of our consciousness from muladhara (root) chakra towards the union with the Divine in sahasrara (crown) chakra.
Aja Ekapada is one of the 11 Rudras, fierce forms of Lord Shiva, which push us towards spiritual progress and destroy all our illusions. Aja Ekapada destroys the hypocrisy of our mind. Purva Bhadrapada is also one of the most intense and fierce (ugra) nakshatras. Animal connected to it is a male lion, which, in connection with “pillar of light” as its symbol, makes us think about Lord Narasimha, who manifested himself out of the pillar to destroy the duality (Lord Vishnu manifested in this form during the junction of day and night) of our mind and worldly-mindedness, represented by Hiranyakashipu. Lord Vishnu in this form proved God’s omnipresence and omnipotence. Similarly Purva Bhadrapada nakshatra inspires us, often through intense life events, to notice this Divine unity, this single Divine Consciousness manifesting itself through various life events.
Do you want to start learning about the Nakshatras for real? Join me an on-going Journey with the Nakshatras and learn more the mysteries of the Vedic lunar mansions.



Devata: Aja Ekapada (one of the Rudras, one-footed serpent)
Shakti: yajamana udyamana shakti – power to spiritually uplift the sacrificer
Basis above: that which is good for people
Basis below: that which is good for gods
Desire: to gain radiance and splendour of spiritual knowledge
Planetary ruler: Jupiter


Placement: 20:00 Aquarius – 3:20 Pisces (air, sattwa / water, sattwa)
Yogatara:29:30 Aquarius (3 pada)
Pushkaramsha: 2 and 4 pada
Mrityu bhaga: 20:00 Aquarius (4 pada)
Visha nadi: 23:33:20 – 24:26:40 Aquarius (2 pada)
Amrita nadi: 28:53:20 – 29:46:40 Aquarius (3/4 pada)


Tattwa: fire
Gunas: sattwa – sattwa – rajas
Nature: ugra (fierce)
Gaze: adho-mukha (downward facing)
Gana: manushya (human)
Varna: brahmin (priest)
Gender: male
Motivation: artha (accumulation)


Animal: male lion
Symbol: pillar, two-faced man, sword, front legs of funeral cot, single ray of the Sun, skull and bones

Omens: lightening, pillar, column, volcano, fire, snake, lion, Shiva lingam, temple of Lord Narasimha, havan, funeral pyre, grave, graveyard, funeral, lie, skull, bones, ashes, solar pillar


Tridosha: vata
Body part: sides of the body, ribs, abdomen, legs, left thigh, soles of the feet
Chakra: muladhara (root chakra)

Healing tree: mango


Monday: shobhana yoga
Tuesday: kana yoga + nasha yoga
Wednesday: siddha yoga
Friday: shubha yoga
Saturday: amrita yoga


We love to share Vedic knowledge with you. Subscribe to our newsletter to be the first one to receive newest articles from Discovering Youniverse.