Pitris, the Divine ancestors, solar pranic energies, which assist us on our journey from body to body and remind us about our eternal connection to continuum of life, encourage us to become more detached, and responsible in our contribution to life.
– Rig Veda, translation of Dr. Tulsi Ram M.A., Ph.D. and Swami Dayananda
Pitris, the Divine ancestors of higher realms, remind us about the same Divine roots, which all of us share as humanity. They remind us about the universal spiritual essence, which continues to live and travel through the universe even after the death of the body, from life to life, until it reaches final emancipation. Through this Divine spark, and through those Divine roots we are all connected – and with this realisation comes acknolwedgement of our responsibility and duties towards this material world, which we should fulfill both with devotion and detachment. Because in this very present moment, through each of our thoughts, actions and words, that contribute to shaping the future, we become the ancestors of our own and this world’s future, too.
Magha nakshatra, bringing release after intense energies in Ashlesha, inspires us to seek spiritual freedom from material bondages – but at the same to honour our roots and stay responsible towards the world that we come from. Because detachment, without respect to our eternal connection to continuum of life, can be destructive, too. Moon in Magha inspires us to honour this sacred connection instead of trying to get isolated it from it or running away from it – as illusion of separation can make our ego become too strong, too. And Moon in Magha can frequently become too proud or isolated. This lunar mansion, dwelling in the center of zodiacal third eye chakra, teaches us how to, first of all, get detached from our ego identity and to become more selfless i our thoughts, words and actions.
Do you want to start learning about the Nakshatras for real? Join me an on-going Journey with the Nakshatras and learn more the mysteries of the Vedic lunar mansions.



Devata: Pitris (ancestors)
Shakti: tyaga kshepani shakti – power to leave the body
Basis above: crying, mourning
Basis below: leaving the body, falling
Desire: to flourish in the world of ancestors
Planetary ruler: Ketu


Placement: 0:00 – 13:20 Leo (fire, tamas)
Yogatara: 6:00 Leo (2 pada)
Sun’s mulatrikona: 1:00 – 10:00 Leo (1, 2 and 3 pada)
Visha nadi: 6:40 – 7:33:20 Leo (3 pada)
Amrita nadi: 12:00 – 12:53:20 Leo (4 pada)


Tattwa: fire
Gunas: tamas – rajas – rajas
Nature: ugra (fierce)
Gaze: adho-mukha (downward facing)
Gana: rakshasa (demonic)
Varna: shudra (worker)
Gender: female
Motivation: artha (accumulation)


Animal: male rat
Symbol: throne, palanquin, royal chamber

Omens: lion, grave, funeral, ancestors, old people, crown, throne, palace, rat, palanquin, star, luxurious thing, car, out of the body experience, banner, mountain peak, eagle, father, banyan tree


Tridosha: kapha
Body part: nose, lower lip, chin
Chakra: anahata (heart chakra)

Healing tree: banyan


Sunday: yamaghanta yoga + nasha yoga
Monday: shobhana yoga
Tuesday: amrita yoga
Wednesday: amrita yoga
Thursday: amrita yoga
Friday: kana yoga + nasha yoga
Saturday: shubha yoga


We love to share Vedic knowledge with you. Subscribe to our newsletter to be the first one to receive newest articles from Discovering Youniverse.