Agni, the god of fire, can bless us with the light of self-knowledge and clarity, but in his lower octave he can also ignite in us the burning fire of passion and desire.
– Rig Veda, translation of Dr. Tulsi Ram M.A., Ph.D. and Swami Dayananda
There are different types of fire in nature. There is the fire of passion, which awakens a burning, irritating sensation within us, a temporary lack of fulfillment. There is the creative fire, which utilises its warmth to bring something new into life. There is the fire of hunger, that wants to consume. And then, there is the fire of self-knowledge, which dispells all the darkness of ignorance and transforms us in its heat. Agni symbolises all the manifestations of fire element in our inner and outer universe, rajasic, tamasic and sattwic. As rajasic fire, he gives us the power to create and awakens within us ambition and sense of will power. As tamasic fire, he awakens desires within us and the need to consume. As sattwic fire, he wants to refine us in the flames of knowledge and transform us, so the light of the soul can shine more through us.
Dwelling partially in the sign of Aries (head of Kalapurusha, Spirit of Time), and partially Taurus (face of Kalapurusha), Krittika nakshatra inspires us to bring more light of truth and integrity into our lives – and to make the light of our inspiration shine through us and manifest into the world. It connects what is in our head and mind with our self-expression – thus blessing us with creative power, eloquence and communication skills. It helps us to translate our idea into the material world, connecting fire and earth, as well as heaven and earth, above and below. It also makes us more aware of the true desires of our soul. As Moon is exalted in Krittika nakshatra, when it is dwelling here, it confronts us with some truths about ourselves, so we can understand ourselves and our desires better – and so our self can become refined in the fire of self-knowledge.
Do you want to start learning about the Nakshatras for real? Join me an on-going Journey with the Nakshatras and learn more the mysteries of the Vedic lunar mansions.



Devata: Agni (fire-god)
Shakti: dahana shakti – power to burn
Basis above: to create heat
Basis below: to create light
Desire: to be the eater of food for gods
Planetary ruler: Sun


Placement: 26:40 Aries – 10:00 Taurus
Yogatara: 6:00 Taurus (3 pada)
Moon’s exaltation: 3:00 Taurus (2 pada)
Moon’s mulatrikona: 4:00 – 20:00 Taurus (2, 3, 4 pada)
Pushkaramsha: 1 pada and 4 pada
Visha nadi: 3:20 – 4:13:20 Taurus (3 pada)
Amrita nadi: 8:40 – 9:33:20 Taurus (4 pada)


Tattwa: fire
Gunas: rajas – rajas – sattwa
Nature: mishra (mixed)
Gaze: adho-mukha (facing down)
Gana: rakshasa (demonic)
Varna: brahmin (priest)
Gender: male
Motivation: kama (fulfillment)


Animal: male goat / sheep
Symbol: razor, blade, sharp instrument

Omens: fire, oil lamp, homa, goat, sheep, peacock, Sun, burns, hunger, ayurvedic herbs, delicious food, burning sensation, fever, pain in the stomach, indigestion, East direction, knife, razor, hiccup, sore throat, eye issues, display issues, cuts, temple of Kartikeya


Tridosha: kapha
Body part: hips, loins, crown of the head
Chakra: vishuddha (throat chakra)

Healing tree: udumbara


Monday: shobhana yoga + nasha yoga
Tuesday: sarvartha siddhi yoga
Wednesday: sarvartha siddhi yoga
Thursday: utpata yoga + yamaghanta yoga
Friday: sri yoga
Saturday: amrita yoga


We love to share Vedic knowledge with you. Subscribe to our newsletter to be the first one to receive newest articles from Discovering Youniverse.