Vasus, 8 elemental powers, representing Nature’s mysterious rhythm and its transformative powers, carry our prayers and intentions towards heavens.
– Rig Veda, translation of Dr. Tulsi Ram M.A., Ph.D. and Swami Dayananda
Dhanishta nakshatra is presided by Vasus, the 8 elemental forces (sometimes also imagined as 8 primordial serpents), which create, sustain and transform this material universe – as well as our inner universe. Earth, Water, Fire, Air, Ether, Sun, Moon and the Star (which are the 8 Vasus) do not only exist in the external universe, but also represent different levels of our consciousness, starting from muladhara chakra (root) and ending with sahasrara (crown). No wonder one of the symbols of this lunar mansion is a ladder. Being located at the very heart of zodiacal muladhara chakra, between the sidereal Capricorn and Aquarius, Dhanishta nakshatra was also marking the beginning of Uttarayana in Vedic times, which made it always associated with ascension, growth and progress.
People born under the stellar influence of this lunar mansion are courageous, ambitious and grounded – but can be a bit stubborn, too, due to strong earthly influence of this star. Dhanishta nakshatra inspires us to aspire for the stars, yet stay well grounded in this world – to find a symbolic balance between heaven and earth, and to manifest a better reality in the present moment with the power of our own intention. Vasus were also often addressed as the deities circumbulating the mystical Meru mountain (symbolising our sushumna nadi, pathway of our consciousness in our energy body) and the ones, who deliver all our prayers and intentions to the Supreme Lord.
Do you want to start learning about the Nakshatras for real? Join me an on-going Journey with the Nakshatras and learn more the mysteries of the Vedic lunar mansions.



Devata: Vasus (8 gods of elements)
Shakti: khyapayitri shakti – power to gain abundance and fame
Basis above: birth
Basis below: prosperity
Desire: to revolve around the summit of gods (mount Meru)
Planetary ruler: Mars


Placement: 23:20 Capricorn – 6:40 Aquarius (earth, sattwa / air, sattwa)
Yogatara: 22:30 and 24:00 Capricorn (1 pada)
Mars exaltation: 28:00 Capricorn (2 pada)
Saturn’s mulatrikona: 0:00 – 20:00 Aquarius (1 and 2 pada)
Ashtamamsha: 1 pada
Visha nadi: 25:33:20 – 24:26:40 Capricorn (1 pada)
Amrita nadi: 00:53:20 – 1:46:40 Aquarius (3 pada)


Tattwa: earth
Gunas: sattwa – tamas – tamas
Nature: chara (movable)
Gaze: urdhwa-mukha (upward facing)
Gana: rakshasa (demon)
Varna: shudra (worker)
Gender: male
Motivation: dharma (righteousness)


Animal: female lion
Symbol: drum, flute, ladder, stairs

Omens: ear, problem with hearing, hearing something important, drum, flute, ladder, stairs, lion, music, constipation, Meru yantra, Sri yantra, mountain


Tridosha: pitta
Body part: the back, anus
Chakra: svadhishthana (sacral chakra)

Healing tree: shami


Monday: siddha yoga
Tuesday: mrityu yoga
Wednesday: nasha yoga + dagdha yoga
Thursday: shubha yoga
Friday: siddha yoga
Saturday: shubha yoga


We love to share Vedic knowledge with you. Subscribe to our newsletter to be the first one to receive newest articles from Discovering Youniverse.