Divine twins, Ashwins, born from the union of Sun-god (Surya) and through the nostrils of Samjna (Consciousness) represent prana, cosmic life force, and its creative potential.
– Rig Veda, translation of Dr. Tulsi Ram M.A., Ph.D. and Swami Dayananda
Ashwini nakshatra is governed by the Divine twins with heads of horses, sons of Light and Consciousness. Airy, swift and dynamic in nature, its energy resembles a running horse. It makes everything more dynamic, speedy and energised. It helps us to achieve our goals quickly and to find solutions fast. With its power of recovery it has the power to bring instant, miraculous healing to the body and energises us from within. After all, it is the asterism of prana itself. Because not only our life’s experience in this early realm starts with the first breath, but, according to the Vedas, even the creation of the universe starts with the exhale of Lord Vishnu – when the still waters of creations are stirred into motion and we enter the world of duality (symbolic twins). Hence it is the first nakshatra of the zodiac.
Dwelling in the sign of Aries, which is the head of Kalapurusha (Spirit of Time), Ashwini nakshatra can bless us with powerful intellect, memory, ability to learn and strong nervous system. When Moon dwells in Ashwini nakshatra, according to Kala Prakashika, it is the best time to commence any form of education. It represents the power of the mind itself, which is ever in movement. Yet, the shadow side of this asterism is impatience (after all it is mulatrikona of Mars), impulsiveness and uncontrolled instincts. For Ashwini nakshatra natives it becomes essential to meditate and learn how to control their mind, through the power of pranayama (yogic breathing), so their mind and energy does not run impulsively like a wild horse, but is safely attached to the chariot of Consciousess.
Do you want to start learning about the Nakshatras for real? Join me an on-going Journey with the Nakshatras and learn more the mysteries of the Vedic lunar mansions.



Devata: Twins Ashwins (Divine healers, sons of Sun-god)
Shakti: shidravyapani shakti – power to achieve quick results
Basis above: creatures to be healed
Basis below: healing therapies
Desire: the ability to hear well and not be deaf
Planetary ruler: Ketu


Placement: 0:00 – 13:20 Aries
Yogatara: 10:00 Aries, 13:45 Aries (4 pada)
Sun’s exaltation: 10:00 Aries (between 3-4 pada)
Mulatrikona of Mars: 0:00 – 20:00 Aries (all 4 padas)
Mrityu bhaga: 8:00 Aries (3 pada)
Vargottama: 1 pada
Visha nadi: 11:06:40 – 12:00 Aries (4 pada)
Amrita nadi: 9:20 – 10:13:20 Aries (3 pada)


Tattwa: air
Gunas: rajas – rajas – rajas
Nature: laghu (light, swift) and kshipra (quick)
Gaze: tiryanga-mukha (level facing)
Gana: deva (god-like)
Varna: vaishya (merchant)
Gender: male
Motivation: dharma (duty)


Animal: male horse
Symbol: horse’s head

Omens: horses, fast cars, physicians, medicines, books, young teachers, yoga teachers, ayurvedic doctors, pain in the neck, problems with concentration or memory, honey, father


Tridosha: vata
Body part: knee, top portion of feet
Chakra: vishuddha (throat chakra)

Healing tree: nux vomica


Sunday: sarvartha siddhi yoga + nasha yoga
Monday: shobhana yoga
Tuesday: sarvartha siddhi yoga
Wednesday: mrityu yoga + nasha yoga
Thursday: sarvartha siddhi yoga
Friday: sarvartha siddhi yoga
Saturday: shubha


We love to share Vedic knowledge with you. Subscribe to our newsletter to be the first one to receive newest articles from Discovering Youniverse.