Nagas, Divine serpents, are forces of transformation residing in the depths of our subconscious mind, inspiring us to find a healthy balance between contraction and expansion, moving towards freedom, while honouring our current boundaries and limitations.
– Atharva Veda, translation of Dr. Tulsi Ram M.A., Ph.D. and Swami Dayananda
Nagas, Divine serpents, represent the power of vibration in their serpentine motion and the cyclic nature of time in their coiled state. In Vedic pantheon, Divine serpents, with their bodies always close to the surface of Earth, were considered the protectors of land and natural environment, as well as the most intuitive, wise and sensitive of all beings, deriving their wisdom directly from the greatest teacher: Nature. In yogic tradition serpent also represents the power of vibration, as well as Kundalini shakti, our dormant spiritual power, which, when coiled, is asleep and leads to lots of material attachments – and when awakened, frees us from all bondage.

Ashlesha nakshatra, star ruled by Nagas, Divine serpents, is one of the most challenging and most misunderstood lunar mansions. It is also the most vulnerable and the most sensitive of all the stars, which can often make its energy overly introverted and overly protective. Dwelling at the very end of Cancer, it forms an intense gandanta point with Magha nakshatra, which is said to be located in our energy body right at the center of our third eye. Before we experience final freedom, release and detachment of Magha nakshatra, it is here, in Ashlesha, that all our inner attachments, poisons and layers of our ego, are getting intensely purified and finally need to be left behind. Like snake is leaving its old skin, so here we learn what are our own limitations that we need to let go of.

Here, in Ashlesha nakshatra, we are confronted with most vulnerable parts of ourselves and we learn how to acknowledge and honour our own boundaries, limitations and wounds.

The power of this nakshatra is vishashleshana shakti, power to embrace the poison – and so, here we also learn how to embrace difficult emotions, without turning them into poisonous words and actions that can potentially hurt others. Here we learn, how to embrace our vulnerability, without being overly protective.

During churning of the ocean of milk, representing te process of churning our own consciousness, it was the poison that emerged as the first one on the surface – and it was Lord Shiva, the king of yogis and friend of serpents, who happily accepted it and drank it all – but he kept it in his throat, not allowing it to create danger to his environment, but neither allowing it to pollute his inner space. Similar is the lesson that vulnerable Moon in Ashlesha nakshatra is trying to teach us.

It is also believed in Vedic tradition that serpents, who take a vow to never inflict their poison on anybody, are developing powerful yogic powers. Moon in Ashlesha teaches us this healthy self-restriction in our thoughts, words and actions, which leads to powerful inner transformation and development of strong will power. This is why for people born with this placement daily practice of meditation and yoga, as well as bringing more awareness and conscious non-violence into their thoughts, words and actions, will not only become great remedies, but will also lead them to developing inner spiritual power and powerful intuition. Days, when Moon is dwelling in this lunar mansion, are also highly recommended for all types of spiritual practices and introspection. Do your best not to act impulsively on days, when Moon dwells in Ashlesha, as you may regret it later.

Do you want to start learning about the Nakshatras for real? Join me an on-going Journey with the Nakshatras and learn more the mysteries of the Vedic lunar mansions.



Devata: Nagas (Divine serpents)
Shakti: vishashleshana shakti – power to embrace the poison
Basis above: approaching
Basis below: dancing, trembling
Desire: to overcome enemies
Planetary ruler: Mercury


Placement: 16:40 – 30:00 Cancer (water, rajas)
Yogatara: 18:00 and 20:40 Cancer (1 and 2 pada)
Mars’ debilitation: 28:00 Cancer (4 pada)
Mrityu bhaga: 22:00 Cancer (2 pada)
Ashtamamsha: 3 pada
Visha nadi: 23:46:40 – 24:40 Cancer (3 pada)
Amrita nadi: 29:06:40 – 30:00 Cancer (4 pada)


Tattwa: water
Gunas: rajas – sattwa – sattwa
Nature: tikshna (sharp)
Gaze: adho-mukha (downward facing)
Gana: rakshasa (demonic)
Varna: mleccha (outcaste)
Gender: female
Motivation: dharma (righteousness)


Animal: male cat
Symbol: coiled serpent, circle, wheel

Omens: snake, worm, eel, poison, poisoning, medicine, healing herb, spider, creeping creature, water creature, embrace, mantra


Tridosha: kapha
Body part: joints, nails, ears
Chakra: anahata (heart chakra)

Healing tree: champaca


Monday: shobhana yoga
Tuesday: sarvartha siddhi yoga
Wednesday: amrita yoga
Thursday: shubha yoga
Friday: mrityu yoga
Saturday: mrityu yoga


We love to share Vedic knowledge with you. Subscribe to our newsletter to be the first one to receive newest articles from Discovering Youniverse.