Rudra is the god of all inner and outer storms, turbulence, transformations and powerful, unrestrained forces of nature. He challenges us to make our effort when meeting turbulent situations in life and see how we can progress through them.
– Rig Veda, translation of Dr. Tulsi Ram M.A., Ph.D. and Swami Dayananda
Ardra literally means “the moist one”. Similarly like reviving rain, which usually comes along with storm, softens the soil, so our heart gets transformed and softened through intense life experiences. Challenges, losses, suffering, purify us like the rain and, paradoxically, make us more alive and sensitive. They inspire us to get out of our head for a moment, to transcend the limitations of our ego and re-prioritise our goals. Such is also the nature of Ardra nakshatra. It inspires us to re-discover our strength through challenges. This is why its power is yatna shakti – “power to make effort”. This ability to make our effort, to embrace the struggle, and, like a storm cloud, not to be afraid to go against the current, is what Ardra nakshatra blesses us with, along with its presiding deity, Rudra, and co-ruling graha: Rahu.
However, with human head as one of its symbols, we can sometimes be too stuck in our head, whenever Moon is transiting this nakshatra. We can become overly focused on our goals, without ability to see a bigger picture. Powerful mental energy of this nakshatra, dwelling at the heart of Gemini (original 3rd house, representing our thinking process and power to make effort), can energise our intellect, bless us with brilliant ideas and give us the power to realise them in the world. But, if not controlled, it can also prove to be destructive, as Rudra himself is the presiding deity of process of destruction. Too much mental energy makes us sometimes too stuck in our own head and can lead to overly self-centered words, thoughts and actions. Be watchful on such a day not to sacrifice too much on the way to your goals. Make sure that you progress through life in sustainable, non-destructive way.
Do you want to start learning about the Nakshatras for real? Join me an on-going Journey with the Nakshatras and learn more the mysteries of the Vedic lunar mansions.



Devata: Rudra (god of storms, form of Lord Shiva)
Shakti: yatna shakti – power to make effort
Basis above: hunting or searching
Basis below: reaching the goal
Desire: to gain lordship over animals
Planetary ruler: Rahu


Placement: 6:40 – 20:00 Gemini (air, rajas)
Yogatara: 5:00 Gemini
Pushkara bhaga: 18:00 Gemini (4 pada)
Pushkaramsha: 4 pada
Ashtamamsha: 2 pada


Tattwa: water
Gunas: rajas – tamas – sattwa
Nature: tikshna (sharp)
Gaze: urdhwa-mukha (upward facing)
Gana: manushya (human)
Varna: shudra (worker)
Gender: female
Motivation: kama (fulfillment)


Animal: male dog
Symbol: human head, teardrop, diamond

Omens: hunter, head, teardrop, diamond, bow, arrow, storm, lightening, raindrop, rain, animals howling, male dog, statue of Lord Shiva


Tridosha: vata
Body part: eyes, back and front of the head
Chakra: vishuddha (throat chakra)

Healing tree: agarwood


Monday: shobhana yoga
Tuesday: yamaghanta yoga + nasha yoga
Wednesday: amrita yoga
Thursday: dagdha yoga + kana yoga
Friday: sri yoga
Saturday: shubha yoga


We love to share Vedic knowledge with you. Subscribe to our newsletter to be the first one to receive newest articles from Discovering Youniverse.